Healthblog: 47lbs down

I’ve been on this weight loss journey on and off since May 2017, though it would be fair to say I’ve been more off than on.  Losing weight is simple but not easy, doing what you have to do can be a pain.  Weighing everything gets tedious, sometimes not thinking about what you’re going to eat is more attractive than planning it out.  Meal prepping and planning can take a lot of work.  And losing 1lb a week when you have quite a lot to go can just make your goal feel soooo faaar awaaay.  So yeah, I’ve fallen off the wagon a few times.

Once I came out of the clusterf*ck of the past few months I got back on it.  Dusted off the ol’ food scale, put my food down and got back to it.  I think where I failed the past few times to stay on top of things is just the lack of discipline, and that’s a hard thing to build because it seems there’s no real way to say how to do it.  It’s almost like you just have to be at that point mentally where you can push yourself at it and repeat it over and over until it’s just habit.  It’s just what you do.  I feel like I’m finally at that point now, and the proof is in the pudding; consistent weight loss that has brought me down to a total of 47lbs lost since I started in 2017.  I’ve been maintaining anywhere between 3-5lbs a month which has been fantastic and if I can keep it up I can get pretty damn close to goal by the end of the year.  And that’s pretty exciting.

inspirational thing-artist unknown

Leave a comment