Blogmas Day 1 – Here Comes Yule (and Christmas too!)

So some of my favourite streamers are doing Vlogmas – decided I’d do Blogmas!

My favourite time of the year (aside from autumn)!  I don’t know what it is about this time of year but to me it’s positively magical.  As much as I usually detest the cold I typically don’t get too tired of the cold and snow until after New Year’s.  Although we’ve yet to see much of the white stuff this year, a couple sprinklings at most that didn’t stick around.  I love when there’s snow for Christmas straight to New Year’s, it adds to that magic.  I used to and still do love those moments during a good snowfall when the world goes quiet, it’s the most peaceful thing in the world.

Christmas for me hasn’t been a spiritual thing until several years ago when I started practicing it in that way in earnest.  I still celebrate Christmas the way we always have growing up and still maintain those traditions – visiting family on certain days, baking familiar recipes, decorating the house.  For me now that’s a little different because I spend the month getting ready for two celebrations instead of one.  For now, the trees are getting brought out, evergreen-scented candles are going, and there are 20 days left to Yule!