Blogmas Day 2 – It’s Beginning to Look A Lot like Christmas…sort of

Dug out the trees!

Well, at least one of them.  The second one (the main one) wasn’t really a “dig out” as much as it was a new purchase.  We had this beautiful one for years that had mixed branches, snow tips and pine cones on it and was a good 7 feet tall, pre-lit but a year after we got it the entire string surged and burnt out.  You get tired of restringing a beast that big every year so we finally bought a new one.  This thing is amazing!  And kinda crazy.  First, it’s on wheels so a breeze to move about (although I’m not sure how I’m going to get it into the basement, but I’ll figure that out after the New Year) and the wheels lock to keep it in place.  Second the height is adjustable, it can go as low as four feet to seven or higher feet and it stays in proportion no matter its height.  Third, seven light options!  I’m usually a white lights gal myself, but sometimes colour lights can look pretty good too and it’s honestly quite fun having options this year.  The old one hasn’t been tossed, there are plans to re-purpose that one.  Even sans lights it’s too beautiful to get rid of.

The four foot pre-lit I put up in my room took a bit of a beating in storage.  My two kitty boys, those twelve pound house panthers that they are have a habit of sneaking into my closet all year round and were fond of sitting on the tree.  No lasting damage, easily fixable, but I think after the holidays are over it’s going to get stored standing up to prevent future lop-sidedness from house panthers.  It’s the perfect size for me, just big enough for all my favourite ornaments without crowding or gaps.  I had bought a new tree skirt last year which didn’t last long, sadly.  Christmas last year the cats were almost three months old and super playful and literally everything was a toy – tree skirt included.  Needless to say it doesn’t look quite as nice this year.  Well at least they’ve grown out of that stage now.

Mostly.

Now to get the rest of the stuff out and up before they decide to dig around in the storage box.